ISO: COACHING on DISTANCE THROWS

Gwinnett County - Lawrenceville, Ga

Moderator: ADGO BOD

ISO: COACHING on DISTANCE THROWS

Postby celticbro » Tue May 18, 2010 10:41 am

Hey all,

I wasn't sure which forum to post this in, so I thought I would put it in a forum in which on many holes, distance is key!

I'm looking for somebody who is very, VERY knowledgeable of the technique and mechanics of distance throwing, everything from hip and shoulder rotation, arm and elbows, angle of release, etc. I know there are several golfers out there that can throw exceptionally far, but I would like somebody who is good at teaching the deepest of fundamentals and mechanics of distance throwing, somebody who has no problem pointing out the slightest of flaws and give great constructive criticism.

The thing is, I have been playing off and on for over 20 yrs, and I can vouch for myself to say that drive consistency has never been my strong suit. I can throw it on average a decent 290-325 ft on flat ground (not great) but I know somewhere, somehow, I am gyping myself out of extra distance. I want to work on my accuracy through tight fairways as well, but my main objective is to get max distance on open holes.

I've always had sort of a quirky throw and release, that is, until the last few months fully incorporating the true power grip. Before that, I would tend at least half the time to have wobble on my drives before it finally evened out in mid-flight. Since using the PG, the wobble not near as frequent. I also tend to start low on my wind-back, ending up with my release point too high and the disc flying 'to the moon, Alice'.

I've watched many instructional videos on YouTube, but I feel it would benefit me to have some personal instruction handy. However, my main objective is to get somebody to watch, suggest, and coach me on my drives. Pick me apart however you may.